Age of Majority refers to the age at which a child can make life decisions as an adult: buy a car; rent an apartment or sign a contract, things of this nature. Presently there is no Federal Statute which legislates that the legal Age of Majority is to be uniform in all 50 States. So each State is left to decide what the Age of Majority will be.

Because of this the Age of Majority varies from State to State with 18 being the youngest and 21 being the oldest. It is important for parents and guardians to know what the Age of Majority in their home State as well as in the State in which the at-risk adolescent in their care is to be placed. Also it is of value to know that the Age of Majority applies to the Student with respect to the State in which they are registered as a full time student; this may not be the same as their home State.

A few States have recently passed legislation which encourages adolescents to take active participation in the decisions involving their mental health care. SafePassage Adolescent Services encourages parents, guardians and mental health care providers to seek the advice of counsel if you have concerns about the requirements in your State.

SafePassage provides the following reference for the Age of Majority in all 50 States and the District of Columbia. This information has been compiled from www.findlaw.com and www.uslegal.com which are considered to be a reputable resources for researching many aspects of State Law. In addition to referencing the information provided Parents and Guardians are encouraged to seek the advice of counsel when placing an at-risk adolescent who is by their age nearing the Age of Majority in their home State or State in question.

SafePassage provides a listing of the relative Age of Majority in each State and the District of Columbia below; this information does not apply to adolescents who are or have been married. Note: unless otherwise listed, the Age of Majority is 18 years old.

Alabama

  • Section 26-1-1: Age of Majority is designates to be 19 years old.

Alaska

  • Title 25 Chapter 25.20, Section 25.20.010

Arizona

  • Title 1 Chapter 2 Article 2, Section 1-215(3). (6), (19), (22) and (23)

Arkansas

  • Title 9, Subtitle 3, Chapter 25, Section 9-25-101

California

  • California Family Code Division 11, Part 1 § 6502

Colorado

  • Title 13, §13-22-101

Connecticut

  • Title 1, Chap. 1, Sec. 1-1d

Delaware

  • Title 1, § 701

District of Columbia

  • Title 46, Chap. 1, § 46-101

Florida

  • Title XLIII, Chap. 743, § 743.01

Georgia

  • Title 39, Chapter 1, § 39-1-1

Hawaii

  • Title 31, Chap. 577, § 577-1

Idaho

  • Title 32, Chapter 1, § 32-101

Illinois

  • Chapter 755, Act 5, Art. XI, Sec. 11-1

Indiana

  • Title 7.1, Art. 1, Chap. 3, Sec. 25: The term “minor” refers to a person less than 21 years of age; but the Age of Majority is considered to be 18 years old.

Iowa

  • Title VI, Chap. 232, § 232.2 and § 599.1

Kansas

  • Chap. 38, Art. 1, §38-101

Kentucky

  • Title 1, Chap. 2, § 2.015 and § 2.015

Louisiana

  • Civil Code Article 29

Maine

  • Title 19A, Part 1, Chap. 1, § 101

Maryland

  • Article 1, § 24

Massachusetts

  • Part III, Title II, Chapter 231: Section 85P

Michigan

  • Chapter 722, § 722.52

Minnesota

  • Chapter 645, § 645.451

Mississippi

  • Title 91, Chapter 20, § 91-20-3(a) and (k) and § 1-3-27: “Minor” refers to a person who has not yet reached the age of 21. Age of Majority is 21.

Missouri

  • Title XII, Chap. 211, § 211.442

Montana

  • Title 41, Chap. 1, Part 1, § 41-1-101

Nebraska

  • Chapter 43, Article 21, § 43-2101: A persons [age of] minority ends at age 19.

Nevada

  • Title 11, Chap. 129, NRS 129.010

New Hampshire

  • Title 1, Chap.21-B, § 21-B:1

New Jersey

  • Title 2A, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4A, Article 2, § 2A:4A-22

New Mexico

  • Chapter 28, Art. 6, § 28-6-1

New York

  • Chapter 14, ARTICLE 1, Section 2

North Carolina

  • Chapter 48-A, § 48A-2

North Dakota

  • Title 14, § 14-10-01 and § 14-10-02

Ohio

  • Title XXXI, Chap. 3109, § 3109.01

Oklahoma

  • Title 15, Chap. 1, §15-13

Oregon

  • Title 11, Chap. 109, §109.510

Pennsylvania

  • Title 1, Part V, Chap. 19, Subchapter F, § 1991 and 23 § 5101

Rhode Island

  • Title 15, Chap. 12, §15-12-1

South Carolina

  • Title 20, Chapter 7, Article 1, § 20-7-30

South Dakota

  • Title 26, Chap. 26-1, §26-1-1

Tennessee

  • Title 1, Chap. 3, §1-3-113

Texas

  • Civil Practice and Remedies Code Title 6, Chap. 129, § 129.001

Utah

  • Title 15, Chap. 2, § 15-2-1

Vermont

  • Title One, Chapter 3, Subchapter III, § 173

Virginia

  • Title 1, Chapter 2.1, Article 2, § 1-204

Washington

  • Title 26, Chap. 26.28, RCW 26.28.010

West Virginia

  • Chap. 2, Art. 3, § 2-3-1

Wisconsin

  • Chapter 990, § 990.01(3), (20)

Wyoming

  • Title 14, Chapter 1, Art. 1, §14-1-101

According to the most current information available only 3 States ascribe to the Age of Majority to be beyond 18 years of age. Those States are: Alabama, 19; Mississippi, 21; and Nebraska, 19.

SafePassage encourages Parents and Guardians to do their own independent research, read the law as it applies to the State in question and seek the advice of legal counsel especially in situations where extended custody may be an option.